The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) standards established five goals for mathematical literacy:

1.  That students learn to value mathematics

2.  That they become confident in their ability to do mathematics.

3.  That they become mathematical problem solvers.

4.  That they learn to communicate mathematically.

5.  That they learn to reason mathematically.

                                (NCTM, 1989)


Back to home page